1 million daimoku campaign

13 Jul

Day 1- (I actually wrote this 07/12/12, but for some reason it didn’t post. ugh!)

This is a VERY personal journey, but I’ve decided to share it with friends, family, SGI members and those seeking a wonderful life philosophy to live by. I am determined to advance Kosen-rufu (World peace) and I am determined to show that Nam Myoho Renge Kyo (Nichiren Buddhist prayer) works. If you are not familiar with Nichiren Buddhism or Soka Gakkai International (SGI) please visit http://www.sgi-usa.org

I welcome you to follow me on this journey as I reveal……… in Nichiren Buddhism ALL prayers ARE answered!!! Without fail.There have been quite a few victories along the way since I started practicing this Buddhism. I have not always been consistent in my practice, and today I determined that from this day forth, I WILL be consistent, focused and will practice correctly. It’s crazy, even though I have 100% confidence in Buddhism and the Gohonzon (see SGI’s website) I have still been either too lazy or allowed myself to be too busy to remain consistent in my practice. It’s almost like, you know eating healthy and exercising will help you lose weight and decrease health risk, yet you still don’t do it. Well sadly, this is easier than that, and I’ve still been a slacker lol. Not anymore!!! I’m willing to be totally transparent, start to finish. This is my online journal, but also an opportunity for me to hold myself accountable for my commitment and a way to inspire someone else, even if just one person. I am in control of my destiny, therefore I need to hold myself accountable for my victories.

Come take a proverbial “walk with me” to see inside the life of a Nichiren Buddhist practicing with the SGI. I dedicate this journey to my mom, my wife Tiffany and all the SGI members in Maryland. I’ll be 28 soon, but fortunately I’m still a YWD (Young Women’s division) in SGI, so I also dedicate this journey to ALL of my kayo-kai sisters across the world in all 192 countries and territories. This is JUST THE BEGINNING of an AWESOME journey. This will be my first of MANY “Million daimoku” campaigns :-)

This is a post I wrote on Facebook today:

“This is truly pathetic lol, but I have a confession to make. I am 71 days into my 1 million daimoku campaign, (only 93 more days to go as I made a vow to complete by Oct 12, 2012) and I have somehow only chanted 21 hours 15 mins!!!! That means I’ve only averaged 18 minutes per day in chanting. I only had one day of chanting 3 hours, maybe 2 days of chanting over an hour, which means some days I didn’t chant at all, or only for a few minutes. That’s really sad. No wonder my mom was hospitalized for the 7th time in 11 months today. I really need to step up my daimoku!!!!! I want a victory, I need to fight for it!!!!
I sat down and re-wrote ALL of my determinations and prayers for this one million daimoku campaign with the biggest things being #1. My mom being 100% cured and having a total health victory. #2 Having a happy, healthy and harmonious family, marriage, friendships and SGI district/chapter/area. #3 Tiff and I attending the Soka Spirit FNCC in Sept 2012 #4 Stop being a fearful CHICKEN and finally obtaining my driver’s license and being a safe driver so my poor sweet wife can stop playing chauffeur #5 Transforming my financial karma, becoming debt free and being able to have financial freedom to pay all expenses, run my business, support my family and support SGI #6 Tiffany and I losing weight, quitting smoking and eating/living in a healthy, organic/holistic lifestyle.
There are MAAAAANNNY more things I’m chanting about, mostly for the happiness/victories of others, but these are the things I wanted to highlight. I am DETERMINED to show actual proof of this practice for the sake of kosen-rufu, determined to let ALL the support and daimoku of everyone be rewarded with a victory, determined to show my mom that all her good causes and daimoku transformed her health and I WILL complete this daimoku campaign on time. No matter what, I will not fail my family, my SGI family, my wife, my friends, my shakubuku’s or our mentor! I’m CLAIMING THE VICTORY NOW and will make the causes and chant the daimoku to support it.
From this day forward, I will fulfill or exceed my daimoku goal! Period!!! In order to hit my daimoku campaign goal by Oct 12th, I now have to chant 3 hours and 3 mins per day LOL. That is A LOT, but maybe I can reduce the daily commitment by having a few 12 hour Toso’s. 3 hours per day is a stretch, but I did this to myself. When I started this campaign on May 3rd, I only had to do 1 hour 10 mins per day. I failed myself, so now I must find a way to do this 3 hours daily. It’s not a punishment, it’s a lesson and a reward to chant this daimoku.”

To clarify and as not to begrudge my life/benefits, I will say, my mom has been hospitalized 7 times as of today in the past 11 months (end stage renal disease and is now on dialysis), but I am truly appreciative that my mom always had a victory while she was hospitalized and has had some really awesome nurses, doctors and medical staff. I’ve had sooo many benefits, I’ve forgotten some. Now, I can no longer forget lol. It’s all in writing. I NEVER want to be ungrateful again by forgetting ANY of my answered prayers, so at least for this 1 million daimoku campaign, I will keep track of my answered prayers here.

So here’s the deal…no matter what I’m determined to show actual proof, so I’m going to have to make up for lost time and step up my daimoku (chanting Nam Myoho Renge Kyo). Today I was only able to chant 1 hour and 20 mins, but it was focused, clear daimoku, so I know it made some impact. Since my mom is in the hospital now (complication from dialysis. She just started dialysis 2 weeks ago. She needed a blood transfusion. She was having trouble breathing and has fluid on her stomach and lungs. Here’s the benefit…the doctors thought she had an enlarged liver, and thought her heart was being overworked. It was simply fluid that can be removed easily and painlessly. See the power of Shoten Zenjin? (Protective forces of the Buddhist practitioner) I am very grateful) I was there visiting with her. For the most part she was medicated (was having some pain) and sleeping, but she looked really healthy which is a plus. She’s having more test ran tomorrow, so we’ll have a better idea what’s going on then.

Something else really awesome happened today- One of my Kayo-Kai sisters really inspired me and touched my heart with something she sent me in the mail. A few days ago we made a vow to go to FNCC together for the Soka Spirit conference. My wife is determined to go, Chundell’s mom and a few of her friends so we decided no matter what, we’re going and will chant about it. Here’s another one of my post from Facebook:

“There’s nothing like having a myoho sister (Buddhist friend) to keep you inspired, encouraged and committed. Thank you Chundell for the beautiful card, hand-written with a heart felt note, list of other myoho sisters to chant for, a reminder of our shared determination/vow AND an application to FNCC for September 2012 already filled out. You are amazing! Thank you! I love my sisters!!!!”

Anyway, thanks for reading my first blog entry. Stay tuned for more as this wonderful journey unfolds. I will try to write daily or at least a few times per week. Later this week I’ll post and let you all know what I’m chanting for so you can see for yourself when the prayer is answered :-)

Today’s guidance from Sensei;

“I imagine that some of you have family members who are not yet practicing Nichiren Daishonin’s Buddhism. There is no need to be impatient or to agonize over this. Whether people take faith has to do with their mystic connection with Buddhism, which takes a variety of different forms. Important is the presence of one person who is practicing. One person’s attainment of Buddhahood brings happiness to family members and relatives and all those around him or her. When a single sun rises, everything is illuminated.”
— Daisaku Ikeda

Final note: I began my daimoku campaign on May 3, 2012 (Soka Gakkai Day) with a target date of completing my first million by October 12, 2012 (the 733 year anniversary of when the Dai-Gohonzon was inscribed by Nichiren Daishonin). Buddhism has been around for over 2,500 years but the world has only been fortunate enough to be fully  aware of the true law of Nam Myoho Renge Kyo for 759 years).

One Response to “1 million daimoku campaign”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Determinations « Memoirs Of 1 Million Daimoku - August 14, 2012

    […] Ok, so I promised I would post my determinations and prayers so you can all witness Nam Myoho Renge Kyo in action and the proof of this powerful practice of Nichiren Buddhism. To make sense of this, see my original post at http://onemilliondaimoku.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/1-million-daimoku-campaign/ […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

