Determinations

16 Jul

“Our lives inherently possess a boundless energy. Summoning this forth, we can break through the shell of the small self that constrains our lives. The process of revolutionizing our own lives and helping others to do the same, can transform society and ultimately elevate the state of humanity.”  Daisaku Ikeda

“When we change, the world changes. The key to all change is in our inner transformation—a change of our hearts and minds. This is human revolution. We all have the power to change. When we realize this truth, we can bring forth that power anywhere, anytime, and in any situation.” Daisaku Ikeda

Ok, so I promised I would post my determinations and prayers so you can all witness Nam Myoho Renge Kyo in action and the proof of this powerful practice of Nichiren Buddhism. To make sense of this, see my original post at https://onemilliondaimoku.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/1-million-daimoku-campaign/

To learn more about Nichiren Buddhism, please visit www.sgi-usa.org

***Warning- Some of the determinations may not make sense to a non-Buddhist/non SGI member, as some of the terms are in Japanese or Sanskrit (Nichiren Buddhism originated in Japan and the sutras written by Shakyamuni Buddha were in Sanskrit).***

I have 2 separate list. One is for determinations, one is for prayers. In Buddhism, prayers and determinations are essentially the same thing, but I’m weird so I like to separate mine lol. For me, my determinations are things more so related to me and what I’d like to personally do. They are also the bridge that will help me actualize my prayers. These determinations are congruent with my Bodhisattva vow also. Prayers are also things related to me, but it’s also wishes for others, personal victories and goals. I can’t properly explain it, but there is a difference, I’ll post both, but for now, JUST the determinations. (plus no one feels like reading all that in one post lol. This post is long enough as is).

For the Sake of Kosen-Rufu, I must show the actual proof of ALL my prayers being answered. Victory is my only option. Kosen-rufu depends on me having the courage of the Lion King, the determination of my mentors and strong faith that wells forth easily and is like flowing water. I am determined to unite with my Kayo-Kai sisterhood, and reply to my mentor Soka Gakkai President Daisaku Ikeda, so here’s my determinations:

  • I will always follow the “Strategy of the Lotus Sutra”.
  • I will live the Gosho and become a great disciple of Nichiren Daishonin and SGI President Daisaku Ikeda.
  • My ichinen will infuse with the Gohonzon,  and I will ALWAYS trust the Gohonzon 100% with my whole life and be confident that all of my prayers will be answered.
  • I will always be dedicated to advancing kosen-rufu in America and will show actual proof of the mystic law of Nam Myoho Renge Kyo.
  • I will uphold and propagate the mystic law and the Lotus Sutra, and introduce thousands of people to Nichiren Buddhism for the sake of their happiness.
  • I will master my mind.
  • I will have a positive attitude and optimistic view of life.
  • I will take responsibility and understand that I need to be the change I want to see.
  • I will always seek and maintain good friends in faith and will myself become a good friend.
  • I will help my chapter flourish daily.
  • I will sincerely recognize, acknowledge and repay my debts of gratitude and always be appreciative.
  • Each day I will muster more faith, encourage others to do the same and encourage members in their practice.
  • I will win in all of my struggles & obstacles, no matter what the circumstance. I will defeat internal and external devilish functions (Sansho Shima) and remain steadfast, consistent, focused and victorious in my Buddhist practice, so I can demonstrate the greatness of Nichiren Buddhism and work freely for kosen-rufu.
  • I will have break-throughs, benefits and will grow & advance daily  to encourage others.
  • I will have clear targets, determined prayer and will take action.
  • I will develop a powerful life condition that is unswayed by others’ behavior or my environment and manifest the supreme state of the Buddha.
  • I will break through my limitations. turn the impossible into possible, poison into medicine, obstacles into opportunities and suffering into joy.
  • I will eradicate and cease all acts of slander and onshitsu (complaining, criticizing and negative thoughts, words, actions and feelings.)
  • I will let go of all resentments and practice forgiveness.
  • I will chant for the happiness, growth and victories of others, especially those who give me a hard time.
  • I will have sincere, compassionate, heart-to-heart dialogues daily (verbally by phone or in person, instead of just through technology).
  • I will be the best, most compassionate wife, daughter, granddaughter, sister, friend, SGI youth leader and business professional.
  • I will manage my time better, be more punctual, and have a well-balanced life.
  • I will continue to polish my character, reveal & bring forth my Buddha Nature/Buddhahood and remember & carry out my Bodhisattva vow.
  • I will treat every human being as a Buddha, always be respectful, honest, compassionate and speak all the good I know of that person.
  • I will respect the precious sanctity of all life.
  • I will always have the courage, confidence and wisdom to think, say and do what’s right.
  • I will enjoy and appreciate my life daily and cease begrudging my life.
  • I will always respect, appreciate, be in harmony with, have a good relationship with, and be regret-free with my parents, grandparents, my wife, my friends, Buddhist organization, Buddhist mentors, and my country.
  • I will make many great causes to positively transform my karma & the karma of my family 7 generations back, 7 generations forward.
  • I will attain Buddhahood to bring happiness to everyone around me and positively contribute to the world.
  • I will joyfully do gongyo twice daily, and chant abundant, sincere, focused, determined daimoku like the roar of a lion.
  • I will exert myself in practice and study daily and apply what is learned.
  • I will participate in and contribute to abundant SGI activities.
  • I will establish and maintain absolute, unshakable and indestructible happiness.
  • I will make the right causes and take care of myself so I can happily and healthily live to be 100 years old in this lifetime.
  • I will take education, knowledge and wisdom seriously and learn and grow daily.
  • I will develop more compassion each day.
  • I will eradicate and cease doubt, worry, fear, confusion, delusion, anger, greed and foolishness.
  • I will trust Shoten-Zenjin and have confidence that my wife, our families and I are always protected.
  • I will recognize my fundamental darkness and eliminate it from my life.
  • I will manage stress well and be undefeated by it.
  • I will awaken to my mission and joyfully fulfill my mission in this lifetime.
  • I will do my “Human Revolution” and be the best person I can be and create value in whatever I do.
  • I vow to create victory in every aspect of my life! I will build a bridge towards my happiness and the happiness of others, by using the supreme wisdom of Nam Myoho Renge Kyo!

In all honesty, I have often been guilty of breaking some of the above mentioned. That’s why now, it’s very important to me that I fulfill these determinations. This is my “mirror work.” I have to change ME, in order to fulfill any prayer,  to truly fulfill my Bodhisattva vow and in order to contribute to a peaceful society. Each day I will chant to fulfill my determinations.

Leave a Reply

